A group of us spent the day at the Japanese Garden for a majority of the day, where everyone else was enjoying the Good Friday holiday as well. It was interesting to learn about the influence of Japanese immigrants on the city of Buenos Aires. Something I noticed that was interesting was Argentine’s politeness when it comes to the photo op. People were waiting in long lines in order to let others get un-interrupted photos in parts of the gardens. I was also struck by the amount of people carrying their mate cups and thermos around. Since mate is a hot drink, and the day was brutally hot, it showed me how much drinking mate is a part of the everyday culture for Argentines and the culture of sharing.

Jardín Japonés in Buenos Aires

Walking and eating around the neighborhood of Palermo. This neighborhood is extremely affluent, which can be seen by the increase in Americans I have seen around, and the prices of food and drinks. I’ve had an incredible croissant, and affogatto with pistachio ice cream. I also tried my first empanadas, which were caprese and humita (creamed corn). What struck me the most of the streets in Buenos Aires is the trees. In the US, sidewalks are typically manicured, and if there are even any plants, they are tiny trees or bushes. Here, giant trees sprawl every single sidewalk. It makes the city feel more comforting to roam around.

More eats around Buenos Aires. One night, we hosted an asado where we grilled veggies, steaks, and vegan milanesas. Asados, or barbecues, are common ways to serve and host meals for groups of friends and families. When you search for Air BnB’s in Buenos Aires, almost every apartment or home has a grill included. It was really nice to cook at home and have a group dinner together. A group of us had dinner at La Alacena Trattoria, which is a Michelin star restaurant. This meal, with Aperol Spritzes, spinach and ricotta tortellini, and tiramisu, was probably the best meal I have ever had in my life. Eating my way around Buenos Aires was an extremely enjoyable way to spend my week here.

We also visited El Ateneo, which is a book store that is in an old theater.

It was such a fun time to spend extra time in Buenos Aires before heading out to my province. I was able to explore, acclimate, and bond with the other Fulbrighters. I feel very lucky to be surrounded by such kind and passionate people. Having to go our separate ways to our own provinces and universities feels slightly intimidating, but it will nonetheless be an exciting adventure. I am excited to form my new life in Catamarca, and to visit other Fulbrighters around the country over the next eight months!

Leave a comment

I’m Olivia

Join me as I write and reflect on my Fulbright Grant in Argentina!

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started